Home Grassroots Folarin Charges APC Leaders on Peaceful Conduct of Ward Congresses, Calls for...

Folarin Charges APC Leaders on Peaceful Conduct of Ward Congresses, Calls for Active Participation in Physical Voter Registration

Newscarrier 2 years ads banner

As the INEC’s physical registration of voters enters third day, Senator Teslim Folarin has called for active participation of Oyo State residents in the exercise, saying that electoral body’s offices across the 774 LGAs of Nigeria are now open to Nigerians who are 18 years and above.

The Oyo Central senator also charged members of All Progressives Congress (APC) in Oyo State to tolerate, accommodate and conduct themselves peacefully during and after the party congresses slated to commence on July 31st, 2021.

The Chairman Senate Committee on Local Content stated this while meeting with APC leaders and stakeholders in Ibarapa East and Ibarapa Central Local Government Areas of Oyo State.

Oloye Folarin, during the tour, paid homages to traditional rulers in Ibarapa Central LGA: Oba Jimoh Olajide Titiloye (Olu of Igboora Land), Oba Kinsley Onikola Oyelami (Onidere of Idere Land), Oba Jamiu Adedamola Badmus (Olu Aso of Igbole Land), Oba Olusanjo Ojo (Baba Aso of Igbole Land), Oba Fasasi Jinadu (Onisaganun of Saganun), Oba Samuel Adewuyi Adeleye (Onidofin of Idofin), Oba Moyotola Ajibode (Adele Onipako of Pako) and Chief Adepoju Godwin Olaoye (Jagun Of Idere Land).

According to him, ”We must give prominence to peace and unity in APC in line with the provision of the party’s constitution. There must not winner-take-all in the forthcoming ward, local and state congresses of our great party”

He explained that, no member is greater than the party, that was main reason behind the recently concluded APC membership registration and revalidation exercise.

He advised members to imbibe the culture of togetherness and collective fight to achieve common goal, which is to dislodge the misruling People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in Oyo State.

The three-term lawmaker while reiterating his absolute commitment to unity, growth and success of APC in the 2023 elections, urged party leaders to massively mobilise the yet-to-be registered eligible Nigerians for the ongoing INEC physical voter registration exercise.

While speaking further, Folarin reiterated his absolute commitment to help expanding the membership base of the APC in Oyo State.

“To dream or insinuate that I’ll dump APC for PDP that is in vegetative state is laughable. The continuous exodus of PDP governors, senators, house of reps members, state honourables and other gladiators into the progressive family shows that PDP is under intensive care unit, awaiting to be certified dead ahead of funeral ceremony in May 2023”.

“Only a dying politician will consider joining or staying in PDP. I am a living politician and will remain in APC. I strongly advise all frustrated members from other political parties to join us (APC) before it is too late. The Progressive Door is open to all intending members. I must add that in a few weeks to come, we will welcome key leaders in Oyo PDP into APC”.

Oloye Folarin was well received by APC Zonal leaders in Ibarapa East and Ibarapa Central LGAs, which included Chief Jolaosho; former honourable commissioner for Information – Chief S.O Sanusi; former Ibarapa Chairman – Alhaji Olayide Abass; former chairman, Oyo State Management Board – Alhaji Kaseem Jinadu; overall APC leader in Ibarapa North LGA- Chief Tunji Aderenle; former executive chairman, Ifeloju LCDA – Alhaji Rafiu Ojegoke; former member of House of Reps – Hon. Francis Babalola; former honourable commissioner – Pa Dayo Adeola; a member of Oyo State APC Executives – Apostle Aderohunmu; former chairman, Oyo State Pensions Board – Hon. Olaniyan Gbeminiyi; former chairman Oyo State PDP Transition, Reconciliation and Congress Committee – Hon. Tajudeen Salaudeen Amoo; and former chairman of Ibarapa East LGA – Hon. Moses Kolawole. Also in attendance were former members of Oyo State House of Assembly, which included Hon. Adetola Adeniyi, Hon. Ramota Okemakinde.

On the entourage of Senator Folarin were Alhaji Mufutau Adisa Gbayawu, Alhaji M.K.O Olaoye, Alhaji Kamorudeen Ajisafe, Alhaji Razak Lawal Akilapa, Chief Kehinde Balogun, Alhaji Audu Marafa, Prince Gbade Lana, Alhaji Babalola, Alhaji Waheed Akinleye, Chief Lowo Obisesan, Chief Adegboyega Adegoke, Hon. Yinka Taiwo, Alhaji Shina Alabi, Alhaji Kayode Adanla, Hon. Akeem Olatunji Akogun; former state house of assembly members: Rt. Hon. Kehinde Subair, Rt. Hon. Hammed Adigun Murphy, Hon. Akin Ali, Hon. D.A Lawal, Rt. Hon. Segun Ajanaku and Hon. Kehinde Oloya. Others included Prince Tayo Oke, Mogaji (Barr.) Abiodun Akaje, Hon. Tayo Kesa, Hon. Kola Amoo, Chief (Mrs.) Funlayo Akinpelu, Chief (Mrs.) Oluremi Boluwade, Chief (Mrs.) Ashabi Adijat, Chief (Mrs.) Bolanle Badmus, Alhaja Toyin Mustapha, Mrs. Ajike J.P, Mrs. Akinpelu, Mrs. Sherifat Ishola, Alhaji Akeem Ila, Hon. Kabiru Alarape K.K, Hon. Gbeminiyi Olaniyan, Alhaji Eyinade Alobo, Hon. Belerebe Yinusa, Hon. Ismail Lawoya, Prince Muniru Olafiku, Hon. Teslim Kunle, among other notable party stakeholders.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here